Membership News

Greater Washington Urban League Honored Corporate Supporters and Outstanding Volunteers at the 71st Annual Membership Meeting

The Greater Washington Urban League, its members, Board of Directors, Advisory Board and interested individuals meet once a year to share the Leagues challenges and achievements. The 71st Annual Membership Meeting was held on April 23, 2009 in the ballroom at the George Washington University’s Marvin Center. GWU has been the site of the League’s annual membership meetings for 13 years. GWUL Board Chairman Jerry A. Moore III, Venable LLP, thanked Board Member and University President Dr. Steve Knapp for GW’s generosity and for hosting the meeting attended by some 300 persons. The League presented awards to more than 100 Corporate members and five outstanding volunteers. The highest recognition went to 10 Corporate Platinum Sponsors for contributing $25,000 or more in 2008. Recipients were Comcast, Enterprise-Rent-A-Car, Fannie Mae, General Dynamics, Lockheed Martin, NBC4-TV, PEPCO, Prince Bandar bin Sultan, Wal-Mart, and WPGC/CBS Radio. Corporate Gold Awards were presented to 19 recipients; Corporate Silver awards were given to 37 Silver recipients; Corporate Bronze awards went to 28 recipients, and 7 companies received Small Business Recognition awards.

Outstanding awards were presented to Muriel D. Garr, Lola Pol, Willie Mae Cobb, Arnold A. Hall and Linda A. Black five individuals for volunteering their services to various GWUL Divisions.

Receiving Outstanding Service Awards were Alfred M. Rotondaro, Ph.D., Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, and Judy M. Holland, Senior Vice President, Community Relations for Washington Sports and Entertainment, Verizon Center. Leroy W. Jeter, Program Management Director, Lockheed Martin was presented with the Chairman’s Award for outstanding service as a Board member and exemplary leadership as Chair of the Annual Celebrity Golf Tournament for two consecutive years.

Newly elected to the GWUL Board of Directors are Ray Bennett, Senior Vice President, Lodging and Development, Eastern Region, Marriott International, Inc.; Jeanine P. Jones, Senior Director of Diversity & Inclusion, Giant Food LLC; and Tonya Kinlow, Vice President, Government Affairs, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield. Departing Board Members are Jim Daughtenhahn, Jeff Keitelman and Rynthia Rost-Buccine and from the Advisory Board Christine Warnke.